2011 Chief Scout’s Award Recipients

2011 Recipients

In a special ceremony in Oakville on June 26, 2011, Burlington Area presented the Chief Scout’s Award to 5 exceptional youth from the Area.  Recieving the honour this year were Evan S. from 3rd Waterdown; Kevin G. from 15th Burlington; and Alec T., Christopher B,, and Jennifer B. (not pictured) from 31st Burlington.

The Chief Scout’s Award is the highest award which can be achieved at the Scout level in Scouts Canada. It was inaugurated in 1973 by then Governor General Roland Michener, replacing the Queen’s/Kings’s Scout award.  Only a handful of Burlington Area Scouts receive the award each year. 

In order to earn the award a Scout must earn the Voyageur and Pathfinder Activity Awards which require the Scout to develop citizenship, leadership, personal development and outdoor skills.  In addition, the candidates must hold current qualifications in Standard First Aid, hold the World Conservation Badge, investigate and present findings on Scout Canada’s involvement in World Scouting, and design a challenging program which requires the Scout to excel in each of the four activity areas.  Having done all of that, the recipient of a Chief Scout’s Award must submit their work for judgment by their fellow Scouts, their Troop Scouter, and their Patrol Counsellors. 

In working towards the Chief Scout’s Award, the Scouts perform over 30 hours of service in the community. 

Scouts Canada, the country’s leading youth organization, offers challenging programs for boys, girls and youth age 5-26 in thousands of individual groups in most cities and towns across Canada.